Couchsuring and horses in Albania – what a hospitable country

Arriving to Albania from Monte Negro. Albania is completely different to all the other countries I passed. Tourism is less here. People wave or shout something when I pass by.
First impression of Albania. This sign probably saw its best days.
Horse and happy people 🙂 The condition of the roads are really not good though – I hope my bicycle will survive.
Oh, I thought this was a donkey when I took the picture but now I realize it is a horse. I wanted to show that there are a lot of donkeys on the streets 🙂
View of the second largest city in Albania, Shkoder, from the fortress. In Shkoder I stayed with Erjon (through Couchsurfing) and his family. Erjon was a medical student but knew everything about history. He told me everything about the battles. Very interesting.
The fortress in Shkoder.
Mosque.
With Erjon we ate a traditional Albanian meal – liver with cheese. So good.
Arriving to Tirana waiting for a Couchsurfer to come and meet me. Tried to speak to some Albanian guy who owned a cheese store – only through body language. He offered me some cheese and wanted me to take a picture of his store and put it on Internet because he wanted publicity 🙂 What a business man! 🙂
I am now in Tirana, staying with Olta for two nights. She is so nice, hosting me and a Spanish couple at the moment and everyone speaks Spanish. Yesterday we went out for a beer, with a couple of her friends.
A store with a tree going right through it.

Tomorrow I will continue the trip to Macedonia, and then on to Greece, Thesaloniki, and further on to Turkey. Hopefully it will all be good!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.